Hapfairy's World

Symphonic metal news with a sprinkle of fairy dust

Taking my leave...

Hello lovely blog readers. You might have noticed that the blog has been winding down a bit, and I don't post much any more. Honestly, I never have the time! I have my 1-year-old daughter as well as my writing career, which is thankfully going really well. My Scarlet and Ivy series of children's books has been a big success, and I'm now working on a new series for the same age range. 

So I have decided that I am going to more or less quit the blog. I may still post occasionally - perhaps I will post my reactions to big news/albums for example. But I've found myself lacking the time to listen to new records, let alone write about them! I also feel like music blogs are a bit of a dying breed now that everyone can access the latest news on social media. It's been real fun posting on here for the last decade, and I've had some awesome experiences and opportunities. Especially with working with Muses of Metal and the lovely Tayla as well - my highlights were getting a press pass for MFVF, and when we were able to interview Morten from Sirenia at Dames of Darkness. And I was always so shocked and pleasantly surprised to meet people at shows who recognised me from my blog! 

I am still the mod for r/symphonicmetal on Reddit, so please do head over there to see all the latest symphonic metal news and the upcoming albums list. Muses of Metal have a cool new Facebook group also, which you can find here. You can find me on Twitter and Instagram @Hapfairy. If you're interested in my books, all the info and news about those can be found on www.sophiecleverly.com

Thank you so much for all the support over the years and I wish you all well. With lots of love - Sophie.     

Within Temptation and Evanescence Tour Adds New Shows

Following the huge success of the upcoming Evanescence and Within Temptation tour Worlds Collide with several shows already sold out, more dates have been added. The new concerts announced include 3 more in the UK.

The dates are as follows:

April 24th - Belgium - Brussels Palais 12
April 26th - Luxembourg - Rockhall Mainhall
April 28th - Scotland - Glasgow SSE Hydro
April 30th - UK - Leeds First Direct Arena
May 1st - UK - Birmingham Arena

The Belgium and Luxembourg tickets go on sale Thursday October 31, 10:00 a.m. CET. UK tickets go on sale Friday November 1, 10:00 a.m. GMT.

Fan presale starts today with passwords sent out in the bands' newsletters. https://www.worldscollidetour.net/

Nightwish Announce Tour Dates For UK and Europe

Nightwish have announced a string of dates across Europe - including 2 in the UK - for 2020. Their long awaited next album is due to be released earlier in the year and set to be showcased on this tour. Finnish industrial band Turmion Kätilöt will be joining them.

The tour dates are as follows:

16.11.20 NO Oslo - Spektrum
20.11.20 DE Leipzig - Arena
21.11.20 DE Dusseldorf - ISS Dome
23.11.20 NL Amsterdam - Ziggo Dome
24.11.20 NL Amsterdam - Ziggo Dome (sold out)
25.11.20 FR Paris - ArcorHotels Arena
26.11.20 BE Antwerp - Lotto Arena
28.11.20 DE Stuttgart - Hanns-Martin-Schleyer-Halle
29.11.20 LU Luxembourg - Rockhal
03.12.20 IT Milan - Lorenzini District
04.12.20 DE Munich - Olympiahalle
09.12.20 DE Bamberg - Brose Arena
10.12.20 DE Frankfurt - Festhalle
12.12.20 AT Vienna - Stadthalle
14.12.20 DE Berlin - Max-Schmeling-Halle

16.12.20 UK Cardiff - Motorpoint Arena
18.12.20 UK London - SSE Arena Wembley

The UK shows see the band returning to Wembley Arena and also visiting Wales for the first time. For ticket details see below:

O2 Presale: on sale now
SSE Wembley Presale: on sale now
Live Nation Presale: Tuesday 29th October @ 10am UK
General On Sale: Wednesday 30th October @ 10am UK

Nightwish Announce "Decades - Live In Buenos Aires" Blu-Ray/CD

Nightwish have announced that their "Best Of" Decades tour will be coming to blu-ray, with a show recorded live in Buenos Aires. Fans will get to hear Floor Jansen's take on a number of classic and newer songs from the band's back catalogue. There will be multiple formats available, including blu-ray and CD, an Earbook that combines both, digital and vinyl.

The tracklisting is as follows:


01. Swanheart
02. End Of All Hope
03. Wish I Had An Angel
04. 10th Man Down
05. Come Cover Me
06. Gethsemane
07. Élan
08. Sacrament Of Wilderness
09. Deep Silent Complete
10. Dead Boy’s Poem
11. Elvenjig
12. Elvenpath
13. I Want My Tears Back
14. Amaranth
15. The Carpenter
16. The Kinslayer
17. Devil & The Deep Dark Ocean
18. Nemo
19. Slaying The Dreamer
20. The Greatest Show On Earth
21. Ghost Love Score

01. Swanheart
02. End Of All Hope
03. Wish I Had An Angel
04. 10th Man Down
05. Come Cover Me
06. Gethsemane
07. Élan
08. Sacrament Of Wilderness
09. Deep Silent Complete
10. Dead Boy’s Poem
11. Elvenjig
12. Elvenpath
13. I Want My Tears Back

01. Amaranth
02. The Carpenter
03. The Kinslayer
04. Devil & The Deep Dark Ocean
05. Nemo
06. Slaying The Dreamer
07. The Greatest Show On Earth
08. Ghost Love Score

Pre-orders start now for release on 6th December 2019.

Video: Delain - Burning Bridges

Delain have released new single Burning Bridges, taken from their upcoming sixth album. The song continues the band's heavier and more symphonic style - including harsh vocals and the new addition of a real choir. The video was filmed in Snowdonia in North Wales. Check it out in the player below.

Leaves' Eyes and Sirenia To Headline Female Metal Voices Tour

Leaves' Eyes and Sirenia have announced that they will be headlining the Female Metal Voices Tour 2019 for a string of shows across the UK and Europe this winter. Joining them will be Forever Still and Lost In Grey, with Kassogtha and Asphodelia joining on selected dates.

The tour dates are as follows:

23.11 - Ingolstadt (GER) “Eventhalle-Westpark”
24.11 - Sneek (NL) “Het Bolwerk” (excluding Sirenia)

26.11 - London (UK) “O2 Islington”
27.11 - Southampton (UK) “The 1865”
28.11 - Manchester (UK) “Factory”
29.11 - Birmingham (UK) “Asylum”

30.11 - Marche-en-Famenne (BEL) “Wex Club”
01.12 - Zaandam (NL) “De Flux” (excluding Sirenia)
03.12 - Leipzig (GER) “Naumanns”
04.12 - Erfurt (GER) “From Hell”
05.12 - Brno (CZE) “Melodka”
06.12 - Zurich (SUI) “Hall Of Fame”
07.12 - TBA
08.12 - Budapest (HUN) “Durer Kert”
10.12 - Bucharest (ROM) “Quantic Club”
11.12 - Cluj Napoca (ROM) “Form Space”
12.12 - Kosice (SVK) “Collosseum”
13.12 - TBA
14.12 - Venice (ITA) “Revolver Club”
15.12 - Retorbido (ITA) “Dagda Live Club”

Tickets are on sale now.

Tarja Announces UK Tour Dates

Tarja will be returning to the UK for three shows in support of her new album In The Raw in 2020.

The dates are as follows:

March 17th - London - Electric Ballroom
March 19th - Manchester - Academy 2
Friday 20th - Glasgow - Garage

Tickets go on general sale this Friday at 10am.